TCADP Award Recipients 2007-2018

More information about award winners is available in the conference archives.

Appreciation Awards:

  • Reverend Deanna Golsan, for sharing her story about her change of heart on the death penalty and her experience of ministering to the family of a man facing execution – and to the man himself – with Texas legislators and other faith leaders.
  • House of Renewed Hope, an organization founded by several Dallas County exonorees who investigate wrongful convictions and correct injustices. We are especially grateful for their work on the death penalty case of Max Stoffar.
  • Jeff Newberry, for his legal representation of Robert Pruett, who was executed by the State of Texas on October 12, 2017, and for the compassion and kindness he displayed towards Robert’s friends and family.

Courage Award:
Glenn and Judy Cherry, for their unwavering opposition to the death penalty for the man who killed their son, Jonas, and their public efforts to stop the execution of Paul David Story in April 2017.

David P. Atwood Founder’s Award:
Rev. Wes Magruder, in recognition of his many important contributions to the cause of ending the death penalty, particularly his leadership in engaging United Methodists in the North Texas Conference on this issue.

Appreciation Award: Lindsey Pearlstein
Courage Award: Alfred Dewayne Brown
David P. Atwood Founder’s Award: State Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr.

Appreciation Awards: State Representative Alma Allen; Patricia Delgado; and KPFT 90.1 FM
Media Award: Lisa Falkenberg of the Houston Chronicle
David P. Atwood Founder’s Award: Dominican Sisters of Houston

Appreciation Awards: Rev. Cheryl Smith, Alexandra Noll
Courage Award: Manuel Velez
Media Award: Alex Hannaford

Appreciation Awards: Paula Keeth, Maria Castillo, Ariana Campos, Burnham Terrell (posthumous)
Courage Award: State Rep. Terry Canales
David P. Atwood Founder’s Award: Lon Burnam

Appreciation Awards: JC Dufresne, MFSA- Southwest Chapter
Media Awards: Steve Mims and Joe Bailey

Appreciation Awards: Kelly Epstein, Brother Brian Halderman
Courage Award: Jan Brown
Media Award: Jordan Smith
David P. Atwood Founder’s Award: Bishop Joe Wilson

Appreciation Awards: Mary Loehlin, Professor Dennis Longmire, Jim and Sherry Coombes
Courage Award: Anthony Graves and his family
Media Award: Pamela Colloff
David P. Atwood Founder’s Award: Rev. Carroll Pickett

Appreciation Awards: Ron Carlson, Academy of Oriental Medicine in Austin
Courage Awards: Father Mark Miller and the other leaders of the new TCADP Odessa Chapter, Judge Charlie Baird
Media Award: David Grann

Appreciation Awards: Deborah Michalewicz, Steve James, Peter Gilbert
Courage Award: Mayor John Cook
Media Award: Bob Ray Sanders
Special Thanks: Sara Hickman

Appreciation Awards: Archbishop Joseph Fiorenza, Genevieve Tarlton Hearon
Courage Award: Dallas Morning News Editorial Board
Special Thanks: Les Breeding

Appreciation Awards: Bill Pelke, Mario Marazziti, Susybelle Gosslee, President Vicente Fox, Bishop Gregory Aymond, Micki Dickoff
Courage Awards: Rev. Carol Pickett, Sam Millsap